Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern society, tourist industries are currently improved and expanded by a large number of developing countries, which has been a concern to the general public. In my opinion, this phenomenon exerts both positive and negative effects to many aspects of life. In this essay, I will also discuss key causes leading to this trend.

One of the most significant causes of this trend is that tourism is the best way to develop countries to boost their economic growth and enhance residents’ living standard. Specifically, tourism appears to be the hottest industry in the world as it attracts thousands of people coming to visit the attractions; hence, helping to make profit through services provided by this industries. Moreover, expanding the tourist industries also encourages more people to have employment in those areas.

It is undeniable that improving tourist industries is a positive development. It includes rehabilitating more places of interest, providing better services about accommodation, restaurants, tours and travels, etc. Therefore, these changes surely appeal international visitors, which cause the whole economy and local residents to make profits and increase the final income. Another reason for my argument is that expanding tourism helps to raise the popularity of national images. Inevitably, a large number of beautiful pictures will be sent and spread on the Internet to promote the countries’ beauty and attract tourists from all path of life.

On the other hand, many developing countries which are expanding tourism are also considered to be a negative development. Specifically, such minor changes in tourist attractions can also put heavy pressure on residents who are in their vicinity. Local residents may have to change their lifestyle to keep up with the pace of tourist attraction, thus, discouraging them from following traditional ways of living. Besides, expanding tourist industries means less space for other activities and industries such as farming, industrial areas, etc.

In conclusion, tourism is expanding as a result of its importance to the economy of the developing countries. I totally believe that it is both a positive and negative development. It not only encourages the countries to develop but also demonstrates the national images. However, it also exerts negative effects such as pressure on local residents and erases the traditional lifestyles.