For many employers, formal academic qualifications are becoming more important than experience. Why is that? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Currently, many recruiters are inclined to place more emphasis on academic qualifications rather than real-life experience in terms of employing individuals. There are a host of factors attributed to be the causes of this phenomenon and from my perspective, this proclivity may be fraught with a lot of pitfalls.

On the one hand, experts have proposed some reasons contributing to the prevalence of this trend. The most primary driver is that academic certificates could demonstrate the abilities and knowledge of applicants. For example, many prestigious hospitals’ employers prefer to recruit graduates having qualifications showing that they are eligible to diagnose illnesses. As a result, recruiters considered certificates to be the most fundamental criteria assessing whether individuals’ skills can meet their demands. Furthermore, academic qualifications are able to help workers to be trusted by their employers since they opine that their employees have enough knowledge to consummate arduous tasks given. Therefore, both sides could have mutual understanding and empathy, which are capable of strengthening their relationships.

On the other hand, there are some justifications prevailing me on believing that this propensity might be ominous to some extent. Firstly, numerous jobs require workers to own more real-life experience than knowledge. This can be perfectly exemplified that those working in restaurants ought to have interpersonal skills in order to satisfy customers’ needs. Without these essential qualities, employees cannot tackle difficulties relating to their professions. Moreover, the personality of applicants plays such an important role in recruitment. To illustrate, loyalty is very crucial because employees having this quality are willing to devote all of their efforts so as to complete their duties and help corporations. Hence, but for the assistance of faithful workers, plenty organisations like Microsoft or Alibaba could not thrive strongly and be successful.

In conclusion, apparently, it cannot be denied that basing on academic qualifications to employ can help recruiters to derive a lot of benefits. Nevertheless, I want to affirm that this tendency might have some detrimental influence on the development of companies.