Many ex-criminals commit crimes again after being released from prison. What are the reasons for these? What measures can be taken to solve the issue?

It is true that a bunch of criminals engage them in more unlawful acts after discharging from the jail. Although this tendency is ascribed to a host of reasons, effective policies can be adopted to remedy the predicament.

I would contend that unemployment is the burning issue of prisoners after an imprisonment. First and foremost, unemployment deprives wrongdoers of coming back to their ordinary life. In modern society, most employers would refuse them to recruit simply for past criminal records, thus, they fail to earn money for living. Nevertheless, it will be easier for them to subsist if they reunite with old criminal groups and become involved in illegal work. A recent survey stipulates that in America, 30% of hijackings have been committed by criminals who were in police custody for different periods. Therefore, we could argue that lack of job opportunity encourages criminals to carry out more crimes after a period of punishment.

Several viable solutions can be implemented to remedy the aforementioned issues. Firstly, the state ought to implement any rehabilitation program for prisoners in the jail, which will offer them self-correction by consulting with a psychologist. For Example, In Norway women’s jails provide such a program that weekly once or twice have to consult with a psychologist and improve their disturbing thought. This helps ex-convicts to find a way of dispelling the crime habit. Furthermore, as a member of society, we should welcome them if they want to work rather than reject criminal records. In this way, it will solve their joblessness issues as well as surviving costs.

In conclusion, it is imperative that the proposed solutions be universally adopted to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the law breakers are just released from prison.