Many people believe cities should not try to preserve their old, historic buildings and instead, they should destroy them and replace them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree?

There are those who suppose that metropolitan authorities no longer need to conserve their old or historical city structures and that they ought to demolish these buildings in order to make way for new ones. From my own perspective, I firmly agree with this statement because it would save a lot of money and accommodate an overwhelming number of city dwellers.

The most compelling reason behind my belief is that preserving old, historic architectures would render fiscal pressure. The authorities indeed need to pay for not only the salaries of a substantial quantity of staff members but also the tremendously huge costs of day-to-day maintenance. It is unequivocal that many special features and construction materials of ancient buildings would be highly exorbitant due to their scarcity. At the same time, because of safety concerns, most of the historic city structures are not able to be used as tourist attractions anymore which means they no longer generate any tourists revenues. If the executive branch continues providing funding for these outmoded buildings, it is just a waste of money.

Another cogent point that supports my view is that new space is required to construct new buildings for citizens to reside in. In order to get better employment opportunities, education, or healthcare services, more individuals have been migrating to metropolises, making them over-crowded and leading to a lack of accommodation. As cities are already crammed with buildings and business premises, the demolishing of archaic constructions is of utmost significance or even compulsion so as to meet the demand for housing by erecting state-of-the-art apartments or houses for new residents.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that endeavors to sustain old or historic buildings would be futile and they should be instead supplanted by contemporary ones. This is due to monetary issues and the dire need of accommodating the burgeoning population of city dwellers. In my view, new buildings should be designed and structured to be long-lasting so people would not need to replace them in the near future.