Many factors motivate people in the workplace. Of these, money is the most important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are often divided on whether wage is the most essential thing to boost up motivation at work. I believe that money is the ultimate way to excite the workers.

Granted, one might argue that it is not about the money that keeps their interest in work but the feeling that they can contribute their effort to the organization. For example, the employees can feel proud after receiving their seniors’ praise for doing a good job on their tasks. However, it might be hard to tell the differences in workers’ working results just by praise. Therefore, salary can be a more specific way to show how much effort employees have made for the success of the company. Also, it helps to raise the workers’ confidence and belief in themselves, so they can know that if they work hard enough, their effort will pay off.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note that for most people, wage is an essential thing for the employees to maintain their lives. For instance, workers can afford to pay for their living expenses such as rent, food and other bills with a good amount of salary. As a result, work productivity might be increased because people can focus on their tasks without worrying about financial issues. Moreover, people spend money not only for themselves but also for their families. The feeling of happiness that one might receive for taking care of their family members can benefit their mental health.