Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is good environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past decade, eating delivered food has been a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon. Although it may bring several downsides for people when it will be more expensive and less healthy, the returns are highly justifiable.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when citizens ship food a long distance. Firstly, shipping foods requires a large amount of money to pay for the shipping fees and cost to preserve foods for a long time especially for fresh fruits or seafood. Moreover, in the delivery process, foods might be out of date or contain some bad things such as bacteria, mold if the stock method is not guaranteed. Secondly, the environment might be shaped by the increase of shipping foods. Foods will be shipped by trucks, vans, or other kinds of transports which all will release tons of carbon dioxide emissions which is the main reason for the greenhouse gas problem. In addition, when food is easily brought to other places, this can lead to overexploitation when people can take a lot of food ingredients or materials from one area such as seafood, resulting in the ecological imbalance.

On the other hand, I support the view of those who believe that the benefits of shipping foods outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, eating foods from other places is a way to learn and explore more cultures from all around the world. Particularly, without shipping Brioche from France, how inhabitants from all around the world know this tasty highly enriched French pastry. On top of that, taking one country’s cuisine is also a way to promote its tourism and attract more international visitors to come there and experience cultural uniqueness in this area. Another point worth noting is that exporting foods can be the one of the revenue mainstream of some national economies when people deliver foods to other countries. Some countries on earth now rely on trading agricultural goods abroad such as cocoa, coffee, meat or fruits when almost all dwellers are farmers and have a long tradition in this field.

To draw the conclusion, there is no denying that shipped foods are not the best choice for human health and also for the environment, transporting foods still have numerous positive effects on citizens’ life.