Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed that adolescents lack work experience and soft skills and they should do some placements beside taking compulsory subjects. I completely agree with this point of view.

To begin with, deficiencies in social knowledge and employability has been a dominant obstacle for students. The first issue is that the young relies a lot on theories at school which is quiet old and has not been updated for a few years. As a result, what they applied to their jobs may not have exact accuracy and there will be a lot of troubles they have to meet, especially, in some fields such as marketing, law or politics. The second cause for the shortage of work understanding is that juniors do not have enough transferable skills for their work. There is no or very few teachers can teach them how to communicate, have a good teamwork or develop their problem solving skills as well as students themselves explore.

As a consequence, there is a suggestion for education systems that their learners should be trained through internship, and continuously sharpen their academic performance. Initially, after work placement, they will have a chance to expand their social circle of friends and make a significant improvement in professional skills, resulting in more opportunities for students when they graduate. Besides, it is also a measure they can revise their lessons in practical when they use it at work. Another point worth noting is experience in companies, offices may determine the best suitable occupation for pupils and detect their weakness which should be enhanced in the future. Particularly, universities in the UK often encourage applicants to have some work experience and share their time during those jobs related to why they choose those majors for their future careers and write it in their personal statements.

In conclusion, to tackle the low-quality of graduate employees, I agree that educators should take steps and spiritually stimulate the young generation to experience workplaces during their schools.