Many goverments think that economic progress is their most important goal Some people however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With the advanced breakthrough of global industrialisation, a massive number of governments believe that the most important and reasonable accomplishment for their countries is to enhance the domestic economy. Meanwhile, a group of people have equal regard for both economic and other types of progress. Personally, I do believe that maintaining balance is much better than concentration.

On the one hand, lots of governments in the world have been focusing on economic purposes as they bring huge profits and honour to the nation. Firstly, it is obvious that the more dynamic economic activities held in a country, the more impoverished this region becomes. To be more specific, the Japanese government and other countries which possess a vast swath of seashore, have been implementing different kinds of policies on maritime economic development and also obtaining gigantic benefits from them. Secondly, a stable and dependent economy also bring prestige to the nation. Accordingly, the developed countries are more able to participate in various worldwide organisations as well as promote their reputation.

On the other hand, other people suppose it is essential for a country to balance other types of progress namely education, health services, culture and tradition, etc. It will be turmoil if the government only concentrate on economic development, that is a giant gap between rich and poor, an insufficiency in literacy and the degradation in the average public well-being. In addition, cultural and traditional preservation is essential to protect the wholeness of a nation, without that, the young generation could not define themselves as an ethnic or even a unity.

Finally, as I have mentioned, I do concede the importance of economic advancement to many governments, however, the governments had better invest more in other progress for a comprehensive national strength.

In conclusion, the different governments have a different opinion about whether to concentrate sorely on the economy or to balance other development. To me, I am inclined to choose the second one, a better choice.