Many government think that economic progress is their most important goal.some people,however,think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.Discuss both these veiws and give own opinion?

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on how governments measure their countries’ progress. While many governments prioritize economic growth, some people assert that other aspects of development, such as political stability and education, should not be ignored. In my opinion, other types of progress are equally significant to a nation because they are the foundation of economic success.

On the one hand, the reason why governments view economic growth as their overriding priority is that economic prosperity promotes people’s economic well-being. A strong economy, as exemplified in modern Japan, shows the potential to attract more foreign investment. This phenomenon creates job opportunities and ensures business ventures, contributing to a higher level of employment and better salaries for all people.Given that economic development can maximize individual and social benefits, most governments see it as a yardstick against which to measure how successfully a country has developed.

On the other hand, some people argue other forms of progress, such as political stability and education, are equally vital to a country. Without political stability, governments cannot do anything because their attention will be directed towards maintaining shaky coalitions and preventing other regimes from gaining the upper hand. This political chaos will inevitably lead to economic downturn or stagnation. Education is another important factor for a nation’s development. A recent study analyzed by University of Queensland has indicated that countries with high literacy rates such as Australia and Japan are extremely prosperous and that their citizens have a high per capita income, which is approximately ten times more than the underdeveloped countries.

To recapitulate, I agree with those who think other types of progress are equally vital to a country. Economic growth plays an essential role in the development of a nation. However, political stability and education that constitute a fundamental and necessary environment for economic development should be given equal attention. Without these prerequisites, no development will take place.