Task 2: Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negativedevelopment?Give reasons for your answ

In recent years, there have been two conflicting views on the impacts of state-of-the-art technology on social interactions. Some consider that technological advancements have a positive influence on human relationships while others contend that they have adverse effects. In my opinion, I agree with the second point of view, for the drawbacks of technological development far outweigh its benefits.

On the one hand, those who are more sanguine about the effects of technological development on human relationship believe that modern technology has shortened the distance among people and made the world smaller. They assert this trend has a positive influence on human relationship. For example, telephones and the Internet allow business people in different countries to interact without ever meeting each other. Because of these technological devices, not only can business people reduce the cost of long-distance call but they can also build and maintain long-lasting relationship with clients. Considering the convenience caused by the cutting-edge technology, some people argue that the overall impact of technology has been positive.

On the other hand, opponents think technology would adversely affect human relationship. New communication technologies such as smart phones and online apps result in social isolation and reduction of real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friends online rather than mixing with their peers in the real world, and these “virtual” relationships are a poor substitute for real friendships. Due to the negative impacts of technology, people consider it necessary to be aware of the danger of over-reliance on technology.

In conclusion, people have different views on how technology has altered the connectivity between people. Some think of it as a way to facilitate human interaction, yet others fear the development of technology will become a stumbling block to establishing a healthy human relation. In my view, the drawbacks outweigh much more than the benefits produced by technology. Hence, it is recommended that people should be extremely cautious about their reliance on technology.