Nowadays people the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make Has this become a positive or negative development

The issue of whether or not people should interact with others through technology has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people reckon that technology has a positive impact on our human relationships while others do not agree. Personally speaking, I would assert that this phenomenon is a positive development which leads to an expansion of our social circles and improvement of long-distance communication.

Many people believe that the Internet has had negative effects on our relationship with others. Some unnecessary misunderstandings are the result of using stickers and emoticons inappropriately while chatting online. For example, once I was talking to my mother, and she sent me a smiley face to show her happiness. But, it looked like a fake smile rather than a real one. I wondered if I had done something wrong to irritate my mother so much that she used this sarcastic smile on purpose. This phenomenon is easily misunderstood and embarrassing. Given that electronic icons pervading online cannot accurately express human feelings, some might insist that people should avoid relying too heavily upon this state-of-the-art technology.

To be honest, technology allows us to chat with friends from a distance. As many people are living in the fast-paced urban life nowadays, people are so busy that they do not have time to have parties and meetings with their friends. However, the advent of social media allows us to send messages and video calls to friends in our spare time. In addition, many people don’t have sufficient time to go to parties to meet new people, but social media provides a platform for people to make friends. People can easily find people with the same interests from all over the world. Technology not only provides us with the opportunity to make friends but also improves our social skills.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that technology can help us make more friends, and we can use social media to contact our friends at any time, as its positive effects outweigh the rest.