Many governments think that economic progress is the most important goal. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of people who express concern regarding the aims of the government. It is still a controversial issue that whether or not the government should only concentrate on developing economy? From my perspective, I agree with the latter opinion because of the following reasons.

Firstly, I strongly believe that economic progress has to come along with environmental protection. During the production, there are a lot of wastes that are exhausted into the air, soil, and water, which is harmful to people's health. Moreover, at the present, people excessively exploit the natural resources that lead to numerous disasters such as flood, drought, erosion and so on. Therefore, the government needs to take steps in order to reach the balance between economic development and environmental protection.

Secondly, besides the economy, education also plays an indispensable role in society. This is because that school is the place not only to gain knowledge but also improve people's moral standard as well as enhance their's competition in the job market. To illustrate, a school with moral lessons is necessary to bring up the children.

Nevertheless, it is not to say that economy is not important. The fact is that a strong finance will support the government in solving daily affairs. However, besides the economy, there are many elements like education, environment and so on, which are too important to be ignored.