Many governments think that economic progress is their most
important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of
progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views
and give your own opinion.
People have different views about how governments should measure their
countries’ progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree
with those who believe that other measures of progress are just as
important.
There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental
goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high
level of employment, and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic
progress ensures that more money is available for governments to spend on
infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher
revenues can invest in the country's transport network, its education system
and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing
on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power.
However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as
significant as the economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we
should consider the area of social justice, human rights, equality and
democracy itself. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seen
as a reflection of the moral standards and level of development of a society.
Perhaps another key consideration when judging the progress of a modern
country should be how well that country protects the natural environment,
and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively,
the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, wellbeing and happiness of its residents.
In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country’s success,
but social, environmental and health criteria are equally significant.