Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the early 21 st century, the worldwide recession has negatively affected the economy of several countries, a problem leading to the debate on whether economic development should be the key target of a country. While this idea has raised different arguments among people of concern, I am inclined to the view that other types of progress are of the same significance as economic growth.

To begin with, advocates of economic progress may propound that economic enhancement is the most essential prerequisite for the prosperity of citizens. Indeed, if a country owns a developed economy, it is more likely for its populace to be provided with better-quality social amenities, such as education and healthcare. This, to a certain extent, will assure a better life for citizens. Besides, it is undeniable that companies from economically developed countries will probably gain a comparative advantage over their competitors in the global market, which enables them to generate more profit.

Nevertheless, I concur with those who suppose that governments should consider other sorts of improvement as equally important. First, there is little room for doubt that the main objective of almost every country in the world is to create a civilized society, which cannot be ensured only by economic growth. Other criteria like human rights, the quality of governance, employment rate also play important roles in the organization of a society. As an illustration, in a prosperous country where basic human rights are ignored by the authority, rebellions or riots may arise, hence the disturbance of social order. Therefore, it is hard to deny that the sustainable development of a country will need all social, economic, and political enhancements.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although the improvement in the economy will contribute a major part to the overall development of a nation, it is advisable that government pay equal attention to other sorts of progress.