Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic progress is vital for any country. Countries which are economically developed have a strong position on global platform. However, I am of the opinion, that along with economic advancement a country should also ensure that it develops in other sectors such as education, agriculture and healthcare, to truly standout as progressed country.

There is no doubt that economic development of a country brings many benefits to its citizens. Firstly, a stronger economy ensures that the standard of living of people is raised. People have higher incomes and are able to secure much more than just basic needs. Secondly, residents of developed countries have better opportunities to earn their living in their native place. This reduces the rate of migration to other parts of the world. Thus, a higher financial position of any country leads to prosperity of its population.

However, an increased financial power has to be accompanied with equally better development of other sectors, so that the country becomes self-sustaining. With this regard, the first sector, I feel, that needs development is Education. A higher standard of education will enable a country to produce a greater quality of skilled workforce. As a result, it will have to be less reliant on foreign immigrants to push its industrial and job sector. Another sector that needs further progress is agriculture. A robust agriculture sector will aid the country to be self-sufficient in its food production and reduce the burden of import. Lastly, a country cannot maintain its economic status if most of its workforce remains ill. Therefore, an increased attention to healthcare facilities will allow its citizen to be healthy enough to contribute to its progress.

To conclude, while economic development can help put a country on global map. But this development will not be maintained unless it is also inclusive of advancement in other areas such as education, agriculture and healthcare.