Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parents and teachers are role-models for children as they spend most of their time at home or school. However, few believe that in order to mould children into model citizens of society, teachers should be responsible, while, others opine that this duty should fall on parents shoulder. In my opinion, I think both parents and teachers are equally responsible.

Schools are associated with learning and teachers are trained in skill of teaching. Since most teachers are adept in communicating with children on subject matter, there is no harm in using this skill to educate them on moral principles as well. In fact, children can be taught these principles as part of curriculum itself. For instance, in my country, a separate subject of Value education was included as part of study course in primary schools, in which school children were taught values of Cleanliness, discipline, hard work etc.

On the other hand, parents also have an equally important part in instilling positive behaviour in their children. They are the first individuals to come in contact with their children and therefore wield a considerable influence on them. Also. they understand the attitudes and liking of their children and are therefore in a better position to tech them moral values. Additionally, in order for children to imbibe good values effectively, parents have to ensure that they continue the learning, imparted to children in school, at home as well.

In conclusion, children cannot be expected to learn moral values and behaviour upheld in society, by only teaching them at school or home. Both parents and teachers need to perform a complementary role.