It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

It is widely accepted that moral behaviour should be taught to children at early age, and punishment is considered as a good method to reinforce these values. While I agree that punishments are effective to teach children certain things, in my opinion, the type of punishment meted out makes a difference to its effectivity.

It is important to make children realise their mistakes through timely reprimandation of their actions. Only when children are punished, that they understand that their thoughts and leading actions have consequences. For example, a child may hit his friend or sibling while playing. However, it is only when he is reprimanded for his actions that he realises hurting others is not right thing to do. Thus, next time he learns to mend his behaviour. As opposed to this, if his behavior goes unnoticed or is ignored, then the child will continue with his behaviour and may become violent in his adult life.

On the other hand, it is important that punishments fit the unfit behaviour. Children are quite impressionable at young age and any extreme or abusive actions imposed on them may affect their emotional development in future. For example, if a child receives thrashing for stealing a cookie from kitchen because he was hungry it can have negative implications. The child may learn that it is alright to hit someone for any mistakes and may continue stealing in absence of parents.

Since parents and teachers are responsible for teaching good from bad, it is vital for them to exercise discretion while punishing children. In my view, corporal punishments or verbal scoldings should be avoided as form of punishments as they can have negative effects as stated earlier. Instead, other firm but less harsh forms such as curtailment of child priveleges such as TV watching or playing time can be more effective. Teachers can also implement similar strategies like making child perform extra duties or assigining extra homework. This will serve as a positive reinforcement for children and can be even more effective in instilling right behaviour in them.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate my opinion that punishments can definitely be used to teach children positive values. However, it should not include any physical or verbal form, but instead follow other firm techniques.