Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

Recent years have witnessed high levels of sugar in nearly all food and drink products, which is a major threat to human health. In my opinion, I completely agree with the idea of increasing the prices of sugary products to discourage people to consume sugar because it can have a huge impact on low and middle-income families and eventually lead to the breakthrough of healthy alternatives.

Making sugary products more inaccessible by raising prices benefit people from low and middle socio-economic backgrounds. The reason is that the major consumers of foods and drinks containing high levels of sugar are those people and wealthy families do not eat those unhealthy foods because they have their own nutritionists to prepare for their daily diet. Hence, increasing prices is building a barrier between poor people and those products, who are struggling even in their everyday lives. As a result, they will try to choose healthy but cheap fruits which have lots of health benefits.

Moreover, making sugary products expensive also encourage researchers and scientists to develop healthy alternatives to sugar. Since companies lose their major consumers, they will definitely try all methods to get back those customers. The only solution is to make food prices accessible to them. As a consequence, big companies will invest a huge amount of money in research and development to discover healthy but inexpensive sugar alternatives. If they found them eventually, they can have a huge impact on the whole society and most diseases due to sugar will fade away over time, which is a great benefit to humankind.

In conclusion, I believe that by increasing sugary product prices, people will try to consume more healthy food and companies will try to produce healthy alternatives.