Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parent should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way. To what extent do you ag

Many children spend long hours on watching television for entertainment as well as educational purpose. However, in my opinion, too much of screen time is detrimental for children because it leads to ill health, decreased level of academic performance, and negative influence on character formation.

Damaging physical health is one of the major reasons why parent should set limit on children's TV time. For example, many hours viewing television may cause vision problems, postural damage, obesity, high blood pressure and diabetes mellitus. Moreover, most children become couch potatoes and lead a sedentary life style which would in turn cause many chronic illness.

In addition to damaging physical health long TV hours may cause adverse effects on children's mental and intellectual development. For example, children if islolated in front of TV screen without any social interaction, may get depressed.

Most importantly, it can lead to risky and violent behaviour among children and may develope many bad habits such as drug addiction, smoking and alcoholism. For example, children may imitate many TV series characters and select a role models from their favourite acters or actresses.

In conclusion, unlimited time in front of TV screen damages the children's physical as well as mental health. Therefore, to create a healthy educated society each parent should allow their children to engage in more meaningful outdoor activities rather than unrestricted TV time.