Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parents should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the developing technology, the youngsters are mostly dependent upon the high-tech devices such as television or computer. This habit is believed to make a considerable adverse impact on children's physical health as well mental one. Hence, adults especially their parents have to take responsibility for restrict the amount of time youngsters spend on these modern devices. Actually, from my perspective, I totally agree with this statement under any circumstances.

To begin with, it is undeniable that youngsters are easily addictive to high-tech devices which make children out of control. They are not mature enough to resist the temptation from these devices. They immerse themselves in a virtual world, which makes them have isolation from the real one. Some youngsters even skip their meal to finish watching their favorite movie or playing video games. This may lead to malnutrition and some other health problems. In addition, their relationship is also more narrow because they sit in front of the screen all the time instead of going out to integrate with modern society. Another negative point is that they may become couch potatoes and they would get accustomed to a sedentary lifestyle. In fact, youngsters should do some physical exercises to improve their health as well as their spirit instead of insisting on keeping this habit all the time. If you look at those who are addictive to these electronic gadgets, it is quite obvious that almost nobody can develop comprehensively.

With the ideas mentioned above, I stand on the opinion that parents should set a limit on the amount of time on which their children are allowed to use television and computer. Youngsters, with the supervision and guidance of their parents, would be able to explore and take part in outdoor activities like sports, which is beneficial to their physical health. Furthermore, by reducing the time spent on television and computer, children could allocate additional time focusing on academic studies and expanding social circles. This, in return, equips the young with skills that is necessary for the future and broaden their horizons.

In conclusion, the excessive use of high-tech devices such as television and computer brings about negative impacts on children. As such, limiting the time use can be seen as vital actions by the parents to cultivate their children’s well-rounded development.