Many museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit places?

There's a famous saying that, the grass always seems greener on the other side of the river. Although National museums and historical places are deeply linked with the local people's existence, it often visited by the people coming from outside rather than the locals themselves. This essay will discuss the possible reasons of this negligence and also suggest few ideas to help gain their attention.

It is quite common in many countries that, the national people are not quite interested about visiting the local museums and historical landmarks. One of the main reasons i find that, people have become more materialistic rather than intellectual. They only consider knowledge to be beneficial when it relates to any materialistic gain. As a result the knowledge of past has become irrelevant to them. They are only concerned about what we have achieved now ignoring the fact how we have achieved it. For example, in our country we often see people celebrating the independence day but when asked they don't even know the history behind it. Another possible reason could be the administrative approach. It seems that the authorities often promote these national monuments and historical places outside the country in order to have more tourists. While the locals often remain unnoticed.

How to get people's attention? Well, the first thing to be done is to educate our children. We have to make sure that they not only memorizes but also understands the historical background of their own country. Because if they are not emotionally attached to their history, they will often loose their interest in it. Moreover, there should be events and activities held focusing the museums and historical places that will require local peoples engagement. This will establish some sort of attachment between them and grow their interest gradually.

In conclusion, there are several reasons affecting the cause why local people do not value their historical sites and it often seems intellectual. If we can make people especially our children aware of the historical backgrounds and their importance, slowly but hopefully we will be able to reestablish the much necessary attachment.