Many museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit places?

museums and historical sites are seeing a rise in the number of foreign tourists, while locals rarely choose these places as a visit destination. this is because they are too familiar and boring with the local residents, and having intriguing events could be considered as a solution to attract more local visitors.

The role and function of these historical sites should be an interesting, attractive and impressive tourist attractions, while often most local people find it too boring. people claim that nothing changes or differ from when they were a child up to present. The objects exhibited are associated with local daily life, therefore, they are thought to be normal and nothing new for locals to explore. Moreover, these historical places offer so much educational content that people get bored as they read and listen to too much information. A recent research concluded that 71% of average people refusing to visit museums complained that these sites should be designed for entertainment purpose rather than for education.

however, local attention would be brought back to historical sites if those who run these places could create more interactive activities. they could establish contests in which people can participate to examine their knowledge and to absorb useful new information, also, they could celebrate some talk shows where they could employ a university professor or an expert in history field as tourist guides. therefore, they could delivery their passion and knowledge to tourists. this means that these active activities would stimulate tourist’s curiosities since people tend to be attracted to something strange and unusual. And the number of local visitors would increase a result.

In conclusion, although people nowadays tend to be more interested in exploring museums and historical sites coming from other culture than their own since they opine that these place are too boring to visit. however, having more history contests and talk shows could encourage more locals to get there effectively.