Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Concerning the issue of improving the tourism situation, it is widely believed that plenty of museums and historical destinations are mainly visited by newcomers instead of local residents. Personally, some of the most common causes will be analyzed in this writing, followed by responsible solutions.

The discussion can be start with a look into the potential reasons why tourists are likely to be attracted by museums and historical sites rather than the local inhabitants. First of all, one of the main causes of this matter is that these tourist attractions are too familiar to the inhabitants there. This is due to the fact that the locals should be fed up with the museums if they remain unchanged over time. Second of all, the more serious reason in this case is that people would prefer to take a long-lasting trip rather than a short one. The main basic is probably because they want to go somewhere they have not been before instead of visiting the sites they see everyday. Last but not least, some historical sites are not only out-of-date but also expensive for locals to afford. Therefore, the inhabitants are not interested in visiting these museums and historical sites anymore.

Actually, there are a few ways to take action against this issue. The first possible solution is to improve the facilities in the historical sites and offer free tickets for the local residents to pay a visit whenever they want. Taking on the second problem, the most successful way to confront this would be for the authorities to arrange some exhibits or contests monthly for the locals to participate in.

Taking everything into account, the mentioned discussions are convincing enough to lead me to draw a conclusion that if the government and local inhabitants paid more attention on improving these museums and historical sites, there would be a significant change in local tourism.