Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why? What can be done to attract local people?

Nowadays, only few visitors in museums and heritage attractions are made up by native people. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of this problem and how it might be resolved. In this essay, I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

To begin with, in regard to causes, it is undeniable that the high price of tickets would drive natives away. For example, some Chinese tourist attractions may charge lots of money while Chinese residents may be familiar with these places and the price is obviously unreasonable, so they are not willing to pay for it. In addition, the museums and historical sites’ bad services may push local people away. Compared to other entertainment facilities, tourist attractions have bad services which really annoy local people so they choose to go other places as a result.

On the other hand, as to solutions, the government should make it free for local people to visit the museums and historical sites. As the financial burden is alleviated, the local tourist attractions, though familiar, would still be a good choice for local people. Furthermore, the administrators of these places ought to improve their services. For instance, they should set more entrances so that the local people will not be crowded by other tourists outside the gate of a museum.

To summarize, there is no doubt that the high ticket price and the bad services of the museum and heritage sites lead to the fact that local people are unwilling to go for these places. At the same time, nevertheless, the government should set free ticket and the supervisor of these places need to take some actions to show a better service.