Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In recent years, visitors of museums and historical houses are often tourists rather than local people. In this essay, I would discuss several noticeable reasons of this issue before some practical measures are drawn.

The first reason of this problem is that tourists love to visit museums and historical sites to understand the history and traditional values of particular regions that they visit including beliefs, customs and cuisine while local inhabitants are too familiar with the culture of an area where they were born and grown up. In addition, the layout of historical images is likely to remain unchanged for long periods so that the locals are not fond of it because they visited these places at least once in their youth life.

To attract more local residents to these locations, the easiest way is that local authorities should celebrate social events at museums and ancient houses in special time like The Independent Day or Tet holiday. The authorities can also consider accepting the locals to hold important occasions in their life such as wedding festivities or anniversaries in the historical places. As a result, they could attract substantial public attention to historical values. Moreover, another resolution is that infrastructure of museums and historical houses need be improved frequently.

In conclusion, the number of local people who come to historical images will increase gradually if some viable solutions via the way to celebrate social events and infrastructure improvement of ancient houses are completely implemented.