Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The prevalence of crimes has never been anything less than a major concern of all societies. To some extent, an increase in the crime rate, more or less, is caused by ex-prisoners re-offending after the first imprisonment. In this essay, the reasons behind this phenomenon as well as measures will be discussed.

First and foremost, failed accommodation secure could lead to an unsuccessful reintegration. After serving the first punishment, ex-offenders would more likely to return to their previous community where neighbors have already known them before and would exercise reasonable precautions because of perception about prisoners. Hence, ex-prisoners with predominantly unforgiving feelings would opt for leave and fail to find another accommodation aftermath because of a lack of capital. Additionally, employment is a crucial factor which gives ex-felons such a huge chance of rehabilitation. Though, prisoners, before post-release, often not be trained or educated enough to meet the needs of employers, which indirectly creates the barriers to employment.

For the failed accommodation finding reason, it could be solved by improving housing options for ex-prisoners. Prison administrators should have sorts of housing agreement with house owners or apartment administrators for low-income prisoners after being released, which guarantees stable accommodation for a short period. Yet, another measure for unemployment is that authorities should provide educational opportunities or vocational training that would collectively improve odds of employment.

In conclusion, deepened understanding of the reasons and pragmatic measures would put a decline on the re-offended rate of ex-prisoners, which will lower the crime proportion and bring higher safety to society.