Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to handle this problem?

There is an increasing number of criminals re-offend(V) a crime after being released. In my opinion, there are a variety of reasons leading to this phenomenon, and to solve the problem changes should be made to the current legal system.

For one thing, there are a number of reasons contributing to the rise of re-offences. Firstly, people with a criminal record are more difficult to find a job after serving their sentences, which means they are less likely to support themselves in their later lives life. As a result, they have to commit a crime, such as pocket-picking, shoplifting, and robbery, to making a living, which perpetuates the cycle of crime. Recent statistics from the BBC, for example, show that the percentage of re-offenders has been rising over the last decades, among which nearly 90% of them are unemployed. Secondly, their about law is another reason why they commit a crime for more than once. The cost of breaking the law is to low, compared with their huge illegal profits. If a man needs to stay in prison for 3 years for smuggling drugs, it is probably he will continue to smuggle when he is free. If he has to be kept in prison for over 20 years, things may be different.

In order to deal with the root causes of repeated criminals, a series of improvements should be introduced. Firstly, instead of putting criminals directly into prison for a period of time which will reduce the chance of prisoners' reforming, alternative ways, including(such as) community services, and training them for vocational skills, can be taken to prepare prisoners for their later life. For instance, research(U) on criminals conducted by a famous university in the US shows that the proportion of repeated criminals dropped by more than 50% for those prisoners gaining vocational training when at prison. Furthermore, harsher punishments are is also an effective way to deter criminals and prevent them from re-offending.

In conclusion, lacking skills to start a career and slight punishment are the main reasons why people commit crimes again, so improvements on (in) the two aspects can be an effective way to resolve the issue.