Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is thought by some that leading an easier life can solve the environmental issues which are caused by fast developments in technology, while, in my opinion, high technology is the most significant way to address the root cause of environmental emergencies.

On the one hand, living a simpler life can reduce pollution in some way. Firstly, a simpler life always means less consumption, which can dramatically reduce the unnecessary waste produced in the consumer culture nowadays. People who lead an easier life prefer to buy things they really need instead of impulsive shopping which is more likely to buy a lot of unnecessary things ending up in landfill, becoming a burden to the ecosystem. Secondly, people living a simpler life always try to recycle and make the full use of things, such as water, plastic bottles, and clothes. For example, sending unuseful things to the waste bank is a good way to recycle.

On the other hand, I believe technology is a good way to handle the environmental crisis. Instead of using traditional fuels, such as coal, oil, and gas, renewable energy is an ideal resource which causes much less air pollution. For instance, over the last decades, sustainable energy including solar energy, wind energy, and nuclear energy has replaced coal becoming the dominant energy resources in European countries, making up more than 50% of its total energy production reducing the carbon emission by over 60%. Furthermore, the electrical car, which produces none fume, is much friendlier to the environment and will contribute a lot to the zero-carbon target.

In conclusion, an easier life can make a difference to resolve the environmental problems by producing less waste. I believe, however, the using of technology can be the most effective way to resolve the crisis.