Many parents complain about violence promoted to their children through video games, TV programs and other media. Why is it happening? What can be the solution for it?

A lot of parents grumble about violent content exposure of passive and interactive media to their kids, but they should watch out themselves for finding sources of this issue and its solutions.

In the past, families could easily keep their children in safe environments isolated from outside word, but with global spreading of games and televisions a virtual bad street is easily available to most youth now. Families are worried because it is much harder now to protect youth from being endangered by threats and criminal acts.

Secondly, due to their busy lifestyle, many parents could not devote enough time to teach right from wrong to their children. So they tend to blame things such as media, computer games or friends in bad neighborhoods for their kids misbehaviors. Forgetting the fact, they did not make any effort for their kids’ upbringing.

In fact, what families can actually do against this media violence in pretty simple. They can check the contents when buying a game or a movie. Even they can limit their child assess to television channels and websites. So they will see less violence.

It would be another good idea for parents, to either play videogames with their children to share the experience or watch movies with them to teach differences between reality and fantasy at an early age. So kids will know how costumes, camera angles, and special effects can fool them.

To sum up, it seems, we will never totally eradicate violence from our lives nor from the media. But there are many steps that each of us can take to reduce the amount and the impact of violent images in our lives and in the lives of our children.