Many parents think that it is good to help children in their homework, but others think parents should not do that and it is their own duty. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Parents commonly believe that helping children do their homework is necessary. While some agree with that notion as it allows children to learn faster, I would argue letting them finish it on their own is the better option, training their problem-solving skills.

Being able to understand faster is the result of parents' support in helping children with their homework. To put it more simply, some parents might have their personal methods in translating difficult topics into much simpler words that are easier to digest by their children. For instance, a study shown by the Harvard School of Education in 2019 suggested that 2 out of 3 top students in Cleveland Highschool admitted to being helped by parents understanding math using much more relatable examples. This method was proven to effectively help students understand math better. However, receiving too much help from parents encourages children to be dependent on their parents.

On the other hand, letting children finish their homework alone generates their problem-solving ability, resulting in becoming more independent grown-ups. As they are accustomed to analyzing and trying to tackle their problems alone, they generate confidence when they are on their own. According to a survey by NCBI in 2018, 80% of foreign students at Harvard Medical School admitted they barely received help from parents when doing their homework at school. This results in zero hesitation when they decided to move abroad to study as they know they will be alright.

In conclusion, although being involved in children's homework helps them acquire knowledge faster, training them to rely on themselves develops their problem-solving skills. However, some communication strategies are necessary to support this option.