Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes would you like to see in the new century?

Living in the information age, people are bombarded with substantial daily doses of advertising in multiple media. The argument that advertising, with its overwhelming power, leads to consumers’ impulsive purchase has been accepted by more and more people. Consumers are encouraged by advertisements to purchase products in quantity without paying heed to quality. This allegation is flawed, as far as I am concerned.

The first fact to note is that despite the strength of advertising, viewers remain as decision makers. They gather information from advertisements based on their own interest. While some people focus on quality, others are concerned with price. Likewise, advertisements stress different aspects of a product, either quality or price, which is determined by contexts. Consumers are now desensitized to the information delivered by commercials and become increasingly cautious. Quality is, in most cases, a primary concern to them. Even those most loyal users of advertising are now concentrated on product quality, believing that neither pricing nor advertising is an effective facilitator of sales and consumers’ satisfaction with quality is the key to repeat purchase.

Price is perhaps an inducement used marketers to trigger sales, but other elements, such as product package, functions, after-sales service and warrantee, appearing to gain in importance. Advertising informs people of more choices, allowing them to make a buying decision according to their needs and favor a product for different reasons, either quality or price cuts. Needless to say, people have become more circumspect than ever before and more prone to the interaction of other factors, such as the advice of their friends, past experience, current knowledge and physiological state.

It is also necessary to draw a line between the concept of marketing and that of advertising. Advertising alone is not able to contribute high sales and the link between advertising and product usage is in fact not clear. In its broadest sense, advertising is merely a means of generating demand in society by offering specific information on a product or service in a persuasive format. It is similar to sales promotion, package sales, low-pricing strategy and other marketing techniques. Advertising simply conveys the message relating to price, rather than creating this message.

The facts outlined above, when taken together, are in favor of a view that consumers take in the information delivered by an advertisement differently, and they are influenced by a variety of factors and driven by forces in a decision making process. Quality is of concern to them in most cases, instead of price.