In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

The more the world has developed, the more issues we have to handle. One of the most perceptible problems is an alarming increase in the incedence of juvenile delinquency. From my point of view, this matter has resulted from many reasons and should be solved on many levels.

Firstly, indifference of parent to their children can be an underlying reason in a tendency to juvenile delinquency. Particularly, more and more parents are so absorbed in works that they can not spend enough time on taking care of their offsprings. Consequently, if adolescents get into bad company, nobody can prevent them from going astray in the nick of time. This may result in copycat crimes, most commonly alcohol or drug abuse.

Another contributory factor can be the growing popularity of the mass media in which children and teenagers have been come into contact with a variety of content, ranging from violence, sex, sucide to terrorism. As the result, they could commit crimes so as to satisfy their curiosity, such as sexual harassment or even murder.

With regard to penalties for minor crimes, juvenile delinquents to engage in community service is worth taking into account in order for them to not only make up for taking a toll on society but also appreciate the importance of labour. On the other hand, if adolescents carry out, particularly serious offences such as heroin possesion or murder, they must suffer imprisonment for social stability.

In conclusion, the real cause of rather lies in the carelessness of both family and society, therefore it is now time to remedy the phenomenon. With the exception for particularly serious offences, it is advisable that educational penalties should be imposed on adolescent offenders to turn over a new leaf.