Many people are using credit cards or loans to run up huge personal debts that they may be unable to repay. It should, therefore, be made more difficult for individuals to borrow large amounts of money.

What are your opinions on this?

There is no doubt that everyone wishes to buy properties, cars by using cash, unfortunately not everyone can afford to pay lump sum amount of money. Therefore, in my opinion the restriction of borrow large amount of money should depend on case by case, the restriction should not apply to all cases. Hence this essay will discuss on both consequence and needs.

To begin with, specifically on the topic loan Bank’s law, regulation and polices are established for the reasons. In the bank perspective to lend out large amount of money they will have to follow their own procedure in order to protect themselves. For instance, they will have credit assessment team to do analysis on customer’s ability to pay back loan take for an example they will check on client income and bad debt, check on background and etc… if bank just loan out big amount of money to unqualified customers whom unable to repay back, bank will face the phenomenon of bank run. Bank run in this circumstance means bank not able to maintain deposit on hand as cash. For example, in the year of 1999 bank run occurred in Malaysia it’s when central bank need to step in and take control on the situation, this incident happened due to borrowers are not able to repay back their finance.

On the other side, credit facilities are playing crucial role on civilian who need large finance to support them. For instance, to purchase 1 house it cost around RM 200,000 if he need to purchase by cash he need to save for 35 years only can buy 1 house. The credit facility should give to potential customer who are able to payback their loan, without financing from bank people will not have chance to enjoy their living till their retired time. If the bank to strict they will lose potential customer which lead to lose bank profit.

In conclusion, there are many pros and cons on borrow money, bank have to make sure that they lend money to the right person, if they lend to wrong people it might lead to economy crisis like Malaysia in 1999.