Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Many citizens in most big cities such as Jakarta and Surabaya think that free public vehicles should be accessible in their towns. In this essay, I will explain the positive and negative effects of having the complimentary public transportation facility in major cities.

It is evident that some people in metropolitan areas want their governments to provide complimentary public vehicles. It is required because they work in offices far from their houses, and spend much money in transportation. If the free civil transport is provided, many citizens can use their money for other important things. For example, my friend needs to spend around three billions rupiah on transportation fees when going to the office in the southern side of Jakarta. Because of his house is located in the South Tangerang, he hopes Jakarta government provides free civic monorail trains so that he can use his salary to learn coding.

However, every coin has two sides, and despite the advantage of complementary civic buses and monorail trains, there are some drawbacks too. It increases the number of criminal cases because everyone can access the free public buses and monorail trains. Moreover, maintaining these kind of vehicles will be more difficult due to a lack of money. Our government will a use lot of local taxes to finance us.

In conclusion, free public transport existence has its advantage and disadvantage. On balance, however, I tend to believe it is not a problem if free of charge public transports are available as long as the responsible parties provide identity cards for people that want to use civic transportation without spending their money.