Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to make comments or even criticism of their teachers. Others think it will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Since the advent of policies, and rules regarding free speech in many countries around the world, people have been enjoying a more civilized and open-minded lifestyle than ever before. It is thought by many individuals that students should not be disheartened to rate and comment on their teachers, while others think the opposite, citing that disrespect and a lack of discipline are a great hindrance to studying. From my standpoint, I am in of tune with the former stand, and in this essay, I will discuss further my verdict.

It is seemingly rational that this behavior of students is unacceptable and should be discouraged. Underpinning this is the fact that it is against the cultural belief of many nations. A quintessence of this is China, a country having a long-lasting culture. In Chinese belief, students never have a right to criticize their teachers because the young always constitute immature and less knowledgable compared to the teachers, who are obviously older and more experienced. Moreover, when students are fostered to judge their pedagogues, rebellious individuals, which is a very common group in a class, will also have a chance to disturb the lessons and also other people, who seriously want to study. Thus it superficially seems to be irrefutable that this phenomenon should be restricted.

Nevertheless, adherents to the first view also have many plausible reasons to fortify their opinion. One of those is the advancements in technologies. Thanks to the emergence of what is called the Internet, knowledge acquisition is easier for everyone of any age. Owing to that, the belief that the older always know more than those who are younger is no more relevant to this age. Additionally, if students are guided properly, this method of commenting can culminate in numerous unrivaled favorable effects. For example, Teachers who are new to their job can have a general view through students’ comments to improve their professional skills. Because of these above justifications, I am wholeheartedly on the side with the first stand.

To conclude, from my perspective, I am more compelled by the first point of view. In the future, I hope that this trend will be prevalent in more countries, especially those in Asia.