Many people believe that the development of the economy is causing harm to the environment, so the government should stop this development.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals think that the environment is adversely impacted by economic growth, as a result the government must intervene to halt this trend. Due to many reasons which will be presented in the essay, I strongly concur with this point of view.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why the development of the economy plays an important role in building a country. Firstly, the more prosperous the economy of a country is, the brighter development opportunities there would be for enterprises located in. This can offer more international companies to invest and open more employment opportunities for citizens. Therefore the government could collect more taxes from employers and big enterprises in order to enhance national infrastructure. Secondly, when the living standards are becoming better,it is expected that the crime rate will fall. For instance, the more schools we will build, the more people go to school, the more knowledge and law they can approach. As a result, when citizens can become better educated, they are more likely to understand the necessity for preventing crime.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the government should immediately stop this awful development because of the following two serious factors. First, with a view of making room for industrial zones and factories, a great number of trees have fallen for the construction so that deforestation becomes more serious day by day. This also allows the economy to develop, but it has an adverse influence on the environment and even contaminating the air such as global warming is a noticeable issue nowadays. Second, In order to attract more international companies to invest in their countries, they will offer a lot of benefits and good policies to those factories. Therefore, recently a large number of factories do not have a proper waste treatment process and release a lot of chemical waste into the water, contaminating local rivers and lakes, which is proven to be responsible for environmental degradation in many parts of the world.

In conclusion, although economic growth is necessary, it is the preservation of the environment that plays a greater role, in my opinion.