These days, cell phones are becoming more and more popular and affordable.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, cell phones have gained increasing popularity and affordability. The positive impacts of this fact are varied, but I believe they are not as significant as the negative influences because of some reasons which will be presented in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are two major benefits when cell phones are used more popularly. First, the majority of cell phones today allows users to connect the internet or even download many kinds of app such as dating apps, social networking apps. Because of this, they can use cell phones as working tools for replacing to computers which are popular in the past, that is especially helpful when people must move place from place frequently, such as Grab and Uber drivers. Second, cell phone is also a helpful gadget which users can make use of as a form of cutting-edge communication. For instance, many abroad students in modern society often make video calls to see their parent’s faces and beloved ones regardless of geographical locations, which can draw them closer.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that such advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages as follows. Firstly, cell phones can become dangerous devices to poison our brain, so there are many criminal groups create a lot of inappropriate content or gamble apps to earn money from the users. For instance, Connecting the internet, it becomes more easily to enter a violent, pornographic sites or even online virtual gambling site which can adversely impact young generation, especially those who live in rural areas, and cause them many serious negative effects in their behaviours and social life. Second, becoming addicted cell phone is a serious issue all over the world, especially it takes a lot of time from users such as students and children. For instance highly entertaining apps could make children develop a number of physical conditions such as shortsightedness, obesity.

In conclusion, it is beneficial when this fact takes place. However, its detrimental effects are much greater.