Many people believe that an effective transport system is a key component of a modern city. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport.

In many countries, it is believed that an efficient public service vehicle system plays a vital role in a modern city. I believe this trend has both pros and cons, which will be analyzed in this essay.

The negative impacts of public transport have been much discussed. To begin with, as travelers are crowded and personal space may not be available, this means is inappropriate for some errands like traveling with children with special needs. Furthermore, it is more comfortable to seat in a personal vehicle than in a public service vehicle, this may lead to a low level of comfort. In addition, public transport may not stop at a precise address that passenger is traveling to, forcing them to look for additional means.

Despite the disadvantages, public transport has its unique advantages. Firstly, public transport has reduced air pollution since it moves many people in one vehicle, it produces substantially fewer carbon emissions compared to other means. As a result, the risk of global warming may not be affected. Secondly, it allows people who can not afford to buy a private car to get to school, work, grocery or even hospital since it is cheaper compared to personal cars. Thirdly, it eliminates the need to identify and pay for parking spaces at various destinations. Finally, a large number of people are victimized by a traffic accident every year will be decreased since the public transport system are safer than the use of a car.

In the end, the above analyses show that public transport system has both advantages and disadvantages. That's why it is important to weigh the benefits and drawbacks when deciding the means that best suits a given function.