many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. what is your view of examinations?

Nowadays, everybody is accustomed of taking writing examinations all over the world. It is, however, believed that this form of testing students’ knowledge is not a useful and practical way to judge educational management and needs to be taken under reconsideration.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that ‘pen and paper’ tests do bring back many benefits. First of all, it is easier to carry out, less time-consuming, and fewer expenditure taken . In schools, for instance, where there are thousands of students, it is impossible to test every single student or it would take an incredible amount of time . Additionally, we can discover the students’ special ability to solve the problems in derterminate amount of time, to write skillfully through applying this kind of examination in subjects like Literature, Maths, Physics,…

However, there are also some drawbacks that writing tests produce. There are some subjects that we can not give a obvious assessment through using traditional tests such as: Art, Cinema, PE, IT,… These subjects require practical skills that can only be judged when practicing and actual performance. Moreover, the results of these tests also depend deeply on some unintentional situations: being ill on the exam day, being anxious, being stucked in an accident,… These situations occur everyday in our life and we just can’t predict or prevent it perfectly.

As a conclusion, I am in the opinion of the need to change the exams’ formats. We need to come up with a best method of examination, which is not only easily-carried, objective but also practical and versatile so that the educational environment will be positive and attractive to students.