Many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement What is your view of examination

Some people argue that formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not the best way to measure what students have learnt from school. I completely agree with this opinion and I believe different types of knowledge and skills should be measured in according ways.

Examinations are an appropriate method of measuring some sorts of abilities. Students who do well in math examinations usually have a good command of arithmetics and logic. And Memory can be tested by some detailed questions in exams. However, the range of questions in ‘pen and paper’ exams is limited so students can prepare for them by practicing and memorizing in advance. As a result, scores sometimes just reflects how well they have prepared in advance instead of how much they have digested. Quite a few students just focus on skills to pass exams but did not actually work hard to think about the question in the exams.

On the other hand, there are some knowledge and skills that can not be measured by exams. Some people express their ideas better verbally than in writing. They may have good performances in public speaking but still get poor grades in language exams. What’s more, some people show great creativity and practical ability in abundant activities while it is difficult to test these abilities through exams in merely several hours. Standards for these skills are obscure, making it difficult to measure them by exams. These types of abilities should be evaluated in long terms and in more flexible ways.

In conclusion, various competence should be evaluated in appropriate ways to assess educational achievement. Exams work well in measuring some specific types of intelligence but are not suitable for all.