Many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

It has been many years that pen and paper examination is a general approach to evaluate educational achievement worldwide. However, many like me do not believe in this method.

The pen and paper method provides quantitative measurements of educational achievement. Additionally, it, to some extent, upholds fairness for everyone taking part in the exam based on a common criterian. In contrast, health and mental conditions prior and during the exam can simply change the results. Moreover, many questions are predictable based on previous exams held on the same subject. They also do not cover a large area of participant’s knowledge.

Many organizations and educational institutes utelize the process of interviewing as an alternative. Basically, it is far more simple to introduce your knowledge by telling words and not writing them. More intrestingly, the interviewers can recgnize mental and health conditions and take them into account while they are assessing interviewes. On the other hand, like pen and paper method, interview process can not cover all area of knowledge of a person. Besides, it is a true fact that reserved people may easily fail in the interview.

In conclusion, both pen and paper method and interview process have their own advantages and disadvantages. I do not think that pen and paper approach is the best to evaluate educational achievements. It is significantly better to use a combination of both methods.