Many people believe that it is easier to have a healthy lifestyle in the countryside. Others believe that there are health benefits of living in cities.

Discuss both views and give your opinions.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether people can get a healthy lifestyle when living in the city or in the village. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and explain why I believe that the countryside will encourage a more active lifestyle which is good for people’s health.

There are people who argue that it is convenient for citizens to access modern facilities for medical care. The main reason for believing this is that in most cities, there are various healthcare centers with qualified and professional doctors, people can have a regular check-up so that they can identify health problems at an early stage. In addition, citizens can easily access a wide range of fitness centers in the city for physical activities to limit their sedentary lifestyle. For example, after a hard day of working, city dwellers can hit the gym or go swimming to reduce stress and recharge their batteries.

On the other hand, others believe that individuals benefit from a more active life in the countryside. Firstly, it is much easier to get fresh and organic foods from farmer’s markets or farm shops. It is true that vegetables from local farms are less likely to be affected by pollutants as in urban centers. Moreover, the air quality in the countryside is fresher. The reason is that in the village, there are fewer cars and factories as well as more trees which help to convert carbon dioxide into oxygen.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that living in the countryside will help people to have a more healthy lifestyle with fresh air and organic foods.