Many people believe that modern technology has made people more sociable, while others think that it has isolated them. Discuss both ideas and give your own opinion.

Due to the advancements in the telecommunication sector, people have been brought closer than any other previous generation. Undoubtedly, these breakthroughs made a significant impact on how individuals communicate today. However, it is a contentious issue whether it has made the millennials more social or less social. This essay will talk about both the viewpoints and will argue why the technological developments have dreadfully made people less friendly.

On the one hand, people can argue social networking sites and applications have increased the magnitude of social interactions happening every day. Whereas in the past, one has to go to a club, public park or a party to interact with others, nowadays, they can talk to anyone that too in another county without leaving their home. Such convenience makes it possible for individuals to talk to strangers or keep up with friends turning them into more sociable beings. Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat, for instance, makes it effortless to chat with others and establish new connections. Therefore, people have a strong believe in the notion of technology making the millennials more social.

On the other hand, others, including myself, think that modern technology has worsened people’s tolerance level eventually making them less sociable. The reason is simple to understand, online applications only provide suggestions about individuals who either have same set of ideals or share a common interest. If people are only socializing with those who have identical beliefs and ideology, there is strong possibility of becoming restricted to a certain number of people and increasing intolerance among them. For example, it might not come as a surprise that social media users create groups and only invite other users with similar interests. These days, one can see heated online debates about religious values or mocking other nationalities making headlines in news. Hence, technology has, indeed, made people less social.

Even though people of the twenty-first century are interacting at an unprecedented rate but they remain confined among a social circle that they like which is making them intolerant towards other beliefs that is not going to turn them into more sociable.