The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a few college dropouts have become millionaire, the millennials are becoming suspicious about whether to attend universities in order to be successful in this contemporary world. People may have doubts; however, I wholeheartedly agree that even if there have been certain exceptions, but university education is indispensable to climb up the corporate ladder.

Two main ingredients of success are persistence and determination and a student at a university is exposed to both from the freshman’s year. As soon as students start their degree or certification programs, they confront complex subjects and tight deadlines. During the learning process, learners ceaselessly try to overcome their weakness, ultimately cultivating an attitude to never give up and remain consistent even if the situations are seemingly unfavourable. During my bachelor’s degree, for instance, I had trouble comprehend Discrete Mathematics, but through persistence, I was able to score 80 marks in the final exam which shaped my perspective about how to handle problems in life. Therefore, going to an institute for tertiary education would prepare students to combat issues and achieve success in the long run.

Additionally, at a university or an institution, leaners get numerous opportunities to meet like-minded people and senior to develop friendship. Nowadays, no matter how exceptionally talented a person is, they would usually need references for securing a job offer. Since universities provide a chance do networking with not only peers but also professors or alumni, this would certainly come handy during job applications for reputed companies where reference section can make a significant difference in the credibility and employability of an applicant. Many a time, employers prefer an interviewee with an influential or trustworthy reference over the others who do not have such connections. Apparently, if attending universities can open a pathway to enter the professional world, the probability of getting a job and advancements are on the higher side certainly.

To conclude, even though a few people have achieved success without tertiary education, they relied on a team which was graduated from prestigious institutions. When a person spends 3 or 4 years in a university, assimilating life lessons from experience, they evolve as an individual and eventually learn what it means to be successful and how to be one.