Many people believe that the next world war will happen as a result of conflicts over water. Is this fear justified? Give reasons for your answer.
In the present age, a question “What conflict would result the next world war?”, has sparked much
debate. Most presume that the next world war will be a result of conflicts over water. It is judicious
to consider the statement and personally, I am in favor with it.
The primary factor we need to take into consideration is that water is an essential element for a
living being. First and foremost, springs, rivers, lakes and wells are the sources where people can
get water easily. Furthermore, most countries rely on fast flowing rivers to generate electricity.
Closer examination would reveal that without clean water resources, even irrigation would be an
arcane process. However, due to turbulent industrialization and unmanageable urbanization, most of
these sources are getting polluted and shriveled.
Evidently, most of the powerful countries are disposing nuclear wastes in the sources of clean water.
It is also evident that some countries have even changed the course of river for their benefit. These
activities somehow, in future may cause scarcity of water as well as natural disaster. There is no
denying that some maverick countries will fight against these atrocities. To be more exact, discord
among countries about the conflict over water would rise an altercation. I firmly believe that it will
result the next world war.
On the basis of the above discussion, I believe that there is going to be an altercation among some
countries over this issue. Although, there are many more conflicts that may result a world war,
Overall, I am convinced that water conflicts rule them all.