Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree

Being active on social sites have become a common sight these days due to the advancement of technology. By the appearance of such websites, some people argue that it will affect in a negative way on individual people and society. Nevertheless, one believes that their benefits should not be neglected.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that social media platforms have drawbacks on an individual person as well as local communities. With regards to individuals, people who spend most of their time socializing in cyberspace instead of having a conversation with others face-to-face may become dependent and obsessed with social media to communicate. This could affect their personality including depression and anxiety when they can not access those sites. Furthermore, sharing different ideas through the networking sites potentially cause miss understanding and lead to conflict. It may create a gap and make the society unstable.

On the other hand, the advantages of using social media for individuals and society cannot be overlooked. Nowadays someone has a chance to build unlimited friendship bonds without distance and time obstacles. People could open their insight and exchange their thinking with someone outer their circle community via social media. In addition, social networking platforms also deliver information faster. For instance, important news or warning is received easily and quickly in our grasp through social media application installed on the smartphone. Therefore, communities can take an action immediately to prevent unexpected things.

To summarize, even though social media sites include some disadvantages to each person and community, we should not dismiss all other outstanding aspects as detrimental.