Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society

To what extent do you agree?

Today a number of people consider that social media forum and websites such as Facebook have had an enormous adverse effect on individual persons and society. I completely agree with the above statement and I will discuss the reasons for it.

The most important consequence is that people get addicted, once they started using these sites and as a result, they are not able to concentrate properly. For instance, college and school students who are the most frequent users, spend most of their time in social media and reduce their focus on academics. While people at work, instead of completing their jobs they started to surf in these apps and waste their productive time. And if you consider personal life, there is a great decrease in face to face interaction and people become more alone which can lead to social isolation and depression.

On a societal level, there is an increase in the rate of cyber-crimes after the advent of social media. Many criminals using fake profiles contact people and retrieve their financial information. Facebook is being used as a powerful messenger for spreading false messages and information, since communication happens instantaneously, leading to violence in many places. Using these sites, various negative opinion against political leaders and about their activities are propagated, leading to various harms.

In conclusion, social media is having a negative impact on an individual level by affecting their studies, work, personal life and in society by increasing the crime rates. It is also used as a tool for spreading anti-social messages thereby affecting social harmony.