People sleep less than they used to in the past

What do you think is the reason behind this?

What are the effects on them?

The number of hours people sleep in the present time has been reduced when compared with previous days. There are many important reasons such as the introduction of digital devices, modern work environment and also food habits affect sleep. Consequently, reduced sleep affect health and leads to diseases.

The most important reason in my view is, the introduction and usage of digital devices like mobile phones, laptops, TV screens which keep us awakes thorough-out the night and also by emitting blue light they alter our brains normal function. Secondly, many of the job’s today require people to do night work and also long day time working hours make people to wake early and sleep at late timings. Finally, the beverages like coffee and having dinner at late hours in the night, affect our normal programmed sleep cycle.

The worst consequence will be health getting affected first when the sleep is altered. Recently, many studies shows decreased sleep is one of the causes for chronic diseases like Diabetes, Hypertension, heart diseases. Once the brain gets affected people become more irritable, moody and develop more stress which again leads to decreased sleep. The long terms effect in brain includes memory disturbances, since memory consolidation takes place during deep sleep and thinking also gets affected leading to decreased in overall performance.

In conclusion, because of the surrounding environment and modern lifestyle our sleep is affected and it is having huge implications on our health. Maintaining a good sleep hygiene like turning of electronic devices, regular sleep timings, changing our working hours will help us to have good sleep and make our days more enjoyable.