Many people believe that technological and science advance make food better whereas some others believe that because of it that food now is more harmful in people s life Discuss both views and say your opinion

There have been enormous changes in the variety and standards of food we eat every day due to several advancements in the field of science and technology. Some individuals opine that such reforms are detrimental to our health, whereas others believe that these improvements in preserving and processing food have made human lives easier. Both the contrasting views are discussed in this essay, and I believe that such advancements have risked human life and made us dependent on processed foods.

In the past two decades, the variety of food, which is very popular among local people, has been increased significantly. People argue that these eatables, specifically, processed foods, are essential for humans as it can be stored for a longer period of time, because of added preservatives and chemicals. Secondly, these foods are pre-cooked and take very less time to prepare, therefore a lot of time can be saved in food preparation. The use of such eatables can be seen in the military where soldiers carry food packets for a long period of time during their missions, and due to added preservatives, food can be stored for months without decaying.

On the contrary, some people believe that the scientific and technical improvements in the quality of food have made an adverse effect on our health; as such processed foods contain harmful chemicals, which have made it possible to store it for years. Furthermore, regular consumption of artificial additives in processed eatables makes our immune system weaker. For example, it has been scientifically proven by Oxford University that school children who consume packed junk food have less cognitive skills and they are unable to perform well in their academics. Therefore, such advancements are seen as a negative change for mankind.

To conclude, on the one hand, some individuals believe that the advancements in the quality of food have improved our lives, on the other hand, some people argue that these enhancements are detrimental to our health. I believe that we should not be dependent on artificial foods as the nutrients which our body needs can only be acquired by natural food.