Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it.
This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life.
To what extent do you agree with this view?
What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working
life?
It is true that some people know from an early age what career they want to
pursue, and they are happy to spend the rest of their lives in the same
profession. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that others
enjoy changing careers or seeking job satisfaction in different ways.
On the one hand, having a defined career path can certainly lead to a satisfying
working life. Many people decide as young children what they want to do as
adults, and it gives them a great sense of satisfaction to work towards their
goals and gradually achieve them. For example, many children dream of
becoming doctors, but to realise this ambition they need to gain the relevant
qualifications and undertake years of training. In my experience, very few
people who have qualified as doctors choose to change career because they
find their work so rewarding, and because they have invested so much time and
effort to reach their goal.
On the other hand, people find happiness in their working lives in different
ways. Firstly, not everyone dreams of doing a particular job, and it can be
equally rewarding to try a variety of professions; starting out on a completely
new career path can be reinvigorating experience. Secondly, some people see
their jobs as simply a means of earning money, and they are happy if their
salary is high enough to allow them to enjoy life outside work. Finally, job
satisfaction is often the result of working conditions, rather than the career itself.
For example, a positive working atmosphere, enthusiastic colleagues, and an
inspirational boss can make working life much more satisfying, regardless of the
profession.
In conclusion, it can certainly be satisfying to pursue a particular career for the
whole of one’s life, but this is by no means the only route to fulfilment.